Home > Academic > Curriculum

Early Years Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

At Mount Kelly International Preschool and Nursery School, we follow the British National Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum as a base for supporting the holistic development of the child for Pre-Nursery (PN), Nursery (K1) and Reception (K2).

The EYFS is divided into 7 areas of learning that combine to make up the skills, knowledge and experiences that children acquire as they grow, learn and develop. 

  • Prime Areas: lay the foundations for children’s success in all other areas of learning and in life.
    and Language
    Personal, Social
    and Emotional Development
  • Specific Areas: provide a range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills.
    Mathematics Expressive
    Arts and Design
    the World

Click here to know more about the EYFS.


Personalised Learning

Our small class sizes (1:10 teacher to child ratio) give children the highest levels of attention and allow us to provide an individualised approach to helping each and every child to reach their full potential. We aim for learning to be a stimulating and rewarding experience with which children are encouraged to learn actively through exploration, investigation and discovery.

Our approach to early childhood education has been formed by the 4 overarching principles of the EYFS:

  1. A Unique Child - Resilient, Capable and Self-assured

  2. Positive Relationships - Strong and Independent

  3. Enabling Environment - Individual Needs, Partnership with Parents

  4. Learning in Different Ways and at Different Rates - Support to Each and Every Child

Our teachers ensure challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development and foster the Characteristics of Effective Early Learning.


Play-Based Education

Through their play, children build imagination, develop language and reading abilities, strengthen their physical skills and build self-esteem, confidence and friendships.

Mount Kelly International Preschool and Nursery School’s approach to Early Childhood Education fosters children’s discovery of their world. Through adventure, exploratory and social play, children are supported in learning how to learn, and to take the love of learning throughout their education years and into the future.